Report an Outage 1-866-430-4265

Serving Baker, Grant, Harney, & Union Counties




Oregon Trail Electric Cooperative is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 OTEC Scholarship Awards.

The scholarships are geared toward high school students and returning college students. OTEC is awarding a total of 26 scholarships. Each scholarship is $5,000 and 10 of the 26 academic scholarships are earmarked for returning college students.

The college scholarships are in addition to a pair of $5,000 lineman scholarships that were awarded earlier this year and four $2,500 trade school scholarships that will be awarded this summer.

“We received so many qualified applicants it made for some very difficult choices for our scholarship selection committees,” said Andrew Cutler, manager of communications and public relations. “Being a nonprofit electric cooperative, we understand that change and improvements in Eastern Oregon are going to begin locally. As these students begin to make plans for the future, it is OTEC’s hope that they will return to their Eastern Oregon roots, pursue economic opportunities, raise their families and pay forward the positive investment their local communities have made in them.”

Applications received are sorted and evaluated by four independent scholarship selection committees made up of voluntary OTEC members residing in each of the four counties served by the cooperative. Each committee then works through an evaluation process ending with the final selection of recipients for each county.

Applications for 2019 scholarships will be made available online starting in November and are open to current high school seniors and returning college students who are members, or dependents, of OTEC members. Scholarships are funded from interest earned on unclaimed refunds of capital credits.

Baker County

  • Isabella Evans
  • Ashlie Chastain
  • Kaeli Flanagan
  • Kate Jesenko
  • Mason Tomac
  • Noah Woodward
  • Gretchen Daugherty
  • Brieanne Bain


Grant County

  • Reagan Shelley
  • Maggie Justice
  • Jamie Waltenburg
  • James Clay Johnson


Harney County

  • Dalton Nutter
  • Parker Landon
  • Madison Winn
  • Marissa Modey


Union County

  • Bonny Jean Daggett
  • Cade Reed
  • Reata Youngblood
  • Satori Young
  • Elizabeth Clark
  • Cody Dubray
  • Kyla Gomes
  • Kortnee Marriott
  • Sadie McIver
  • Kelsi Reyes